When clouds part

When clouds part, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I pass this field frequently. It’s one way home from Woodbury, and I’m often going this way after dark. I’ve made photographs here before, but always in the daytime, and have never been happy with the results. But on my way home the other evening the moon was bright, though shrouded in clouds much of the time. You’ve probably experienced similar circumstances; driving through the dark, really needing the headlights, then all of a sudden out pops the moon and it’s suddenly bright enough to be tempted to turn the lights off and drive by the light of the moon. (I don’t recommend this practice, especially where deer wander across the roads, but I have done it a time or two.) Anyway, as I approached this field the clouds parted and I was presented an opportunity to see the field and cross in a different light.

I don’t mean to ascribe any religious meaning to this experience; I’m willing to call it a chance situation. But sometimes we are offered the chance to see things in a different light. When we are, we should take advantage of our good fortune in the realization that sometimes we are handed a gift.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 40-150 f2.8 zoom.

 

Leave a Reply

