Not the usual Connecticut country cottage

Connecticut cottage, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

About a mile from “downtown” Roxbury, Connecticut sits the residence of Frank Martinelli, a stark white cube perched on a knoll with a beautiful view. I’ve driven down this road hundreds of times but never stopped to make a photograph. Today there was a patch of yellow wild flowers, it was a perfect sky, and I had no place else to be. For years I mistakenly thought the architect was Richard Meier, only because I had lived in Atlanta, Georgia and was well aquainted with the High Museum of Art, and had once spent a wonderful day touring the Gettey Museum in the hills of Los Angles. Meier’s signature is the white metal panels that clad his designs. It seems like a simple mistake on my part, but it is a good lesson about not jumping to conclusions based on faulty assumptions.

The surprise for me was finding out that I had come to Connecticut where I happened to discover a house I believed was designed by Meier because I had seen one of his designs in Atlanta, only to learn the truth. The house was actually designed by Anthony Ames whose offices are located…..you guessed it, in Atlanta. Small world.

Mr. Martinelli, who has a business in Woodbury, has a history of bumping up against the more conservative members of town historical (he might argue hysterical) commissions. To my eye this is a wonderful design in a perfect setting.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40mm f2.8 zoom.

 

Leave a Reply

