Irises, my way

Irises, Bridgewater, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I have been experimenting with some different photo apps on the iPad, and one of the ones I have found very pleasing is Waterlogue® which renders a watercolor style effect. Used alone it works pretty well, but I find it removes too much of the detail for my taste, so I use another app called Image Blender® which allows me to blend the watercolor effect with the original image file using a slider to get just the effect I want. With this particular image I then went to Photocopier® for a little tweaking then into Snapseed® for a bit of selective adjustments.

I know there are some photographers who take exception with the very idea of messing with a photograph in order to make it look like something it isn’t. And I can appreciate that there are watercolorists who might take issue with my methods, and wonder why I don’t just paint the thing in the first place. To the first I say phooey! We all want our images to satisfy our own vision, and in this instance I was thinking of Monet’s paintings from his garden when I made the photograph, and that was the image I was after. To the second, I admit that I am not a painter, and must do the best I can with the tools and skills I possess. Be content with the fact that I don’t claim to be anything else. Does the world really need another bad watercolorist?

Olympus OMD EM1 with 40-150mm f2.8 zoom.

8 comments on “Irises, my way

  1. Joe says:

    Art is art Steven and it doesn’t matter how you make it as long as the end result is satisfying 😀 I like this one a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JohnAmes says:

    Really nice image Steven. I totally agree that the creative possibilities of the Apple apps are almost endless. To that end there is now a fast growing new field, which I’m sure you’re aware of, called iPhone photography whose practicers produce some amazing stuff. Keep up the experiments!

    Like

  3. JohnAmes says:

    Just tried that watercolor app. It’s terrific! Who cares what the purists say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

