This old house

This old house, near Millerton, New York © Steven Willard

There was a time I revered Bob Villa. Some forty-odd years ago I was in the process of “fixing up” an old house in midtown Atlanta, and I watched “This Old House” with something like religious zeal. As a novice, I paid close attention to his solutions to problems that were often similar to mine. But over time I watched as Bob and his crew got farther and farther away from the kind of projects a homeowner might tackle. “It’s all shot, Bob. It’s all got to go”, was one of our oft-quoted lines from the show toward the end. We longed for the days when Bob, or one of his men would show how to replace the wax ring under a toilet. I wasn’t interested how to jack up the whole house and move it to another lot. Bob just got carried away and I stopped watching.

All that was going through my mind as I walked around “this old house” on a hot summer’s day. Now I live in an RV, and my carpentry tools have all been given away. Things change.

Olympus OMD EM5 with 14-42mm kit zoom. Processed using PhotoCopier, Stackables, and Snapseed on my iPad Air. Oh, and I used an app called Fixel to remove a couple of distracting objects. My goal, after all was to produce an image that looked like an old lith print, and telephone wires just didn’t fit in.

4 comments on “This old house

  1. Joe says:

    I was also a fan of Bob and Norm in the early This Old House days. I stopped watching after Bob left the show and they started working on million dollar plus renovations. By the way great shot Steven.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the final straw for me was the project where they were going to rehab an old barn, but ended up tearing it down, much to the displeasure of the town’s historic committee.

    Like

  3. Lutz Braum says:

    Nice processing – like the texture of the ‘paper’ in the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nikkorbacher says:

    Like you I also stopped watching. But I rather like the incarnation that plays now. Of course I don’t know when it comes on, so I rarely see it.
    Interesting house you photographed, particularly the window above the door, which looks like a total after-thought, like sometime after building the house they found that window and said, “Hey let’s put this in.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

