Where You Find It

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frozen, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Click on the image to enlarge, and take note of the details, shapes, and textures. The image covers an area in life of about 12 inches on the short side, and yet I find myself getting lost in that space. I don’t question that most people will be able to identify the subject fairly easily, but it will take a few seconds, and in those seconds the imagination is free to speculate, to fantasize as you let your eyes wander.

This image is another is a collection photographs taken “on the edge”, in this instance the edge of a roadside culvert. There is something pleasing in this image, at least to me. There is no drama here, and yet I like the notion that we can stop by the side of the road, virtually anywhere, and find something interesting to photograph.

It was just after noon, and the sun was bright and almost directly overhead (of course at this latitude the sun is never directly overhead this time of year), but it was cold and windy. I allowed myself ten minutes to find something interesting, photograph it and get back in the car where it was warm. Even in that short time my fingers were numb and my ears burned with cold.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 40-150mm f2.8 zoom, processed with Nik Snapseed on my iPad Air.

 

Leave a Reply

