At the Edge

At the edge, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

At the edge, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

We had a light dusting of snow and some gusting winds late Saturday night. The result was no snow in the trees but patterns of granular snow left by the swirling effects of the wind.

I took a short walk (it was about 24 F so I wasn’t going to be long) before breakfast, determined to find something that conveyed the weather conditions. My photographic output has beeen low of late. It doesn’t worry me because I know these things run in cycles, but it does leave me itchy,  like people who miss their morning run for several days in a row.

I grabbed my camera from the car and set off around the back of New Morning Market, confident that I could find a photograph if I just looked hard enough. Kicking through dead brush, I worked my way over to a pond that was hosting a small group of Canada geese. They were at the other end of the pond where there was some open water, but even at that distance hey kept their eyes on me as they glided around; like bumper cars that never quite touch.

I found some promising angles that featured the shoreside plants against the snow covered ice and worked that, trying not to annoy the geese, who had gotten there first. Fair’s fair.

Once inside over breakfast, I downloaded the files and began the process of deleting the skunks and having a closer look at those that remained. At this point I was reminded, again, that I seem to have a fascination with edges. I have a whole selection of images taken on the edges of roads, images that feature the point of demarcation between field and forest, and of course images taken at the shore; another kind of edge.

I’m not exactly sure what the fascination is about, but my guess is that it’s at the edges we can see the differences with greater clarity.

Olympus EM5 with Panasonic 42.5 f1.7 lens processed in Snapseed. I continue to be impressed with the Olympus jpegs.

4 comments on “At the Edge

  1. nikkorbacher says:

    Lovely light in the lower right corner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nikkorbacher says:

    OK, but it was the photograher who got the little plant skeleton and the water edge so sharp while nicely blurrinig the ripples on the pond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

