The Loss of Hope*

Hope Lost, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Hope Lost, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

A few of my regular visitors know that I live full time in an RV; somewhat newer and in a lot  better shape than this, but an RV just the same. (If you’re interested in the back story visit my alter-blog http://www.stevenwillardreboot.wordpress.com) This will be my second winter living in New England in an RV. A few of my friends, and a fair percentage of casual aquaintences, thought I had slipped a cog and that it would be only a short time before I came to my senses and moved into more “suitable” accommodations. They will have to wait a while longer.

Last year proved to my satisfaction that in my particular circumstances the RV is perfectly livable…even comfortable. In some ways it is better suited to New England winters than conventional homes or apartments. I heat my space with two small electric space heaters in all but the coldest days. My backup is a propane furnace that easily heats the space and a generator if the power fails. Of course if the situation calls for it I can always pack up and drive away.

So, how does this equate with the title? Simple. When I first entertained the idea of living in an RV it was in the spirit of hope-faith if you prefer-that things would work out. Now, after eighteen months, I no longer feel the need of hope. I’ve seen that it works and no longer rely on hope…at least as far as my accommodations are concerned. In other areas I find myself very concerned, not for myself, but for the nation. I can only hope that by this time next year my worry will have been for naught. Hope is a good thing, but it’s better if you don’t need it.

*This is NOT my RV! I find this a sad situation. That a coach that someone had such hopes for has been reduced to such a state that the owner hasn’t even left a phone number to call for enquireies.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40mm f2.8 zoom.

5 comments on “The Loss of Hope*

  1. Joe says:

    I was at a party last night Steven and I was talking to a good friend about purchasing one of these motor homes and trying full time living in it. It’s just my wife and I and we both are retired. Our homes mortgage has been payed off for about 5 years now. We are re thinking why we need a home with property, yearly astronomical tax bills and someone who we pay to mow the lawn every week. What is the biggest downfall to this kind of living in your opinion Steven ?

    Like

  2. Joe. The answer to your question is complicated as I’m sure you realize, and is dependent on individual circumstances, but I’ll try to answer your question with some questions that might clarify what I know.

    Are you thinking of touring? That is basically on the road perpetually, or spending say half time in the warmer states, and the other up north, but “docked” for a few months at a time? If your intent is to travel, think about mail, banking, doctors, and the other things you’re used to having close by.

    Can you and your partner happily divest yourselves of things you’ve accumulated over the years…without regret?

    A motorcoach can be partitioned, but you will still be living closer than you have been. Do you get on each other’s nerves?

    Do you have friends/places or routines that you just can’t imagine doing without?

    Do you have people who depend on you being physically close by?

    Are you handy? There are things on board that need attention in ways that a conventional house does not. If you plan on touring much of the time there is the motive system maintainence, on board gen set, waste storage and drainage, etc. I’m not saying it is necessarily more than home ownership, but different.

    I would advise that you look into the potential tax advantages/disadvantages that you might encounter if you sold your house and bought RV. An RV qualifies as a house, and the interest on a loan is deductible.

    It goes on and on, but there a lots of people doing it and there is no shortage of information about RV lifestyle on the net.

    My personal situation is that I bought an RV with money from a divorce settlement rather than pay rent. I’m fortunate in that my boss lets me park behind the building where I work. He even provides my electrical service and a place to empty my waste tanks. I only move every now and then to refill my propane tank and to exercise the running gear. At some time in the future I will probably relocate south when I retire, but I will do so reluctantly because I’ll miss my friends and the services of my medical team.

    I had to leave a lot of stuff that I don’t have room for with a friend…stuff that I didn’t use anymore like my 4×5 enlarger, that I’m trying to find a new home for. Interestingly, I have missed very little of what I couldn’t bring on board. In fact I found it liberating to jettison a lot of stuff I had been hanging on to for no reason.

    I don’t know if this helps, but I can say that you aren’t alone. I get questions all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe says:

      You bring up some very good points that I didn’t even think of Steven. My wife and I are basically with each other for 24/7 so thats not an issue and I would love to get rid of most of my stuff I agree it would be liberating. At first we were thinking of a tiny home but most cities and towns do not permit them to be a permanent dwelling. I would imagine spending half the year in a warmer climate and the other half somewhere in the NY, PA area would be our routine. I didn’t even think of medical and I know most policies that are sold are state specific. Thank you so much for your thorough response.

      Like

  3. nikkorbacher says:

    Yes, this is a sad looking motor home. Some people spend a great deal of money on one of these, thinking they’re going to go out every weekend or every month. But they soon lose interest and the coach becomes a neglected orphan. Living in one full-time is a completely different matter.
    Anyway, I’m just here to say “hi” and “Merry Christmas.” I hope your holidays are bright and that all is well. -Ronnie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

