Autumn harvest

Gourds, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Gourds, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I had met some friends at “New Morning”, what must be one of the finest natural food stores in New England. One of the things I like is their cafe where I can have a delicious, healthy meal for a very reasonable price. We had talked until after sundown and as we left the parking lot lights were on.We each had a camera, and as frequently happens, we each photographed the same subject. I should clarify that they both had “real” digital cameras, but I was carrying only my iPhone 5s. They both grabbed a shot of the planter and I thought what the hell, why not see what the new camera could do under very challenging conditions. The planter was lit only by one parking lot light (I don’t know what type, mercury, sodium, or perhaps LED), and a bit of light coming from one of the store windows. High contrast, mixed artificial source and dim. I think it handled it pretty well. A little tweaking in Snapseed and here it is. This represents the scene fairly well, though if you zoom in you can see quite a bit of noise. A great image? No, but it reveals a big step up from my old iPhone 4s.

2 comments on “Autumn harvest

  1. JohnAmes says:

    If the 5s does that fine of a job, think what the 7s is capable of. Times they are a changing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

