Fresh Fruit

 

Fresh Fruit, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Fresh Fruit, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

What more likely place to find fresh fruit than in the planter just outside the front door of the local natural food store? Here it is, coming to the end of November, and I found this stawberry hanging on despite several sub-freezing nights. “This must be some kind of good omen”, I thought. A good omen deserves to be photographed, and since the light was so co-operative, why not? After all, it’s probably the last chance I’ll have to photograph a fresh strawberry until spring.

I’ve had a hard time getting things done recently. I had every reason to think I’d get some stuff done over the long Thanksgiving weekend, instead I kept putting them off until tomorrow. Now I’m feeling guilty. The thing is, I can always argue (at least with myself), pretty convincingly too, that I deserve some slack time, and as someone who has always meant to join The Church of the Sub-genious, I feel we all need a little slack.* Of course one of the manifestations of slack is procrastination, and here lies the conundrum; how does a procrastinator give himself the slack he thinks he deserves if he keeps putting it off until later? Do you begin to see the problem?

Anyway, I had my little EM5 with me, mounted with the delicious little 42.5mm f1.7 Panasonic lens and it only took a moment to make a couple of exposures. I ran the file through PS Express app first (I really like how the sharpening works there), then into Snapseed for finishing.

* This is one of the tenants of the church as taught by the Reverend Bob Dobbs, who“walked the earth in huckster’s shoes”. One of these days I’ll get around to sending my money in for the membership…..maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

