The Stare

The Stare, Brookfield, Connecticut © Steven Willard

The Stare, Brookfield, Connecticut © Steven Willard

There had been a small group practicing lacrosse in this field surrounded by corn. I was on an errand and couldn’t stop at the time, but intended to come right back as soon as I could. Well, as often happens, my intentions didn’t quite turn out and by the time I returned these two were all that remained. I scolded myself for missing a good opportunity and was turning around in the parking lot across the street when I decided to at least get out and have a look. I had my long zoom racked out to 150mm (300mm equivalent) as I moved about, making a series of exposures. I was located about 150 yards away and they didn’t notice me until the very last exposure, at which point I clearly saw them both turn to stare at me, no doubt wondering who I was and just what I was doing. I was tempted to walk across to them to explain, but I couldn’t think just what I would say, so I got in the car and drove off, leaving them to wonder.

On opening the image in PS, and cropping top and bottom, I found myself rather liking what I had. With the warm afternoon light, the ripening corn-which is a giveaway to the time of year, and you can almost feel the heat. My initial reaction to having my unsuspecting subjects staring straight into the camera gave way to a sort of fondness as I worked to pull it all together. The hint of the  voyeur adds the missing element that elevates this from just a snapshot. The credit is theirs, for I surely didn’t plan it that way

Olympus OMD EM1 with 40-150mm f2.8 zoom. Click on the image to see it at full resolution.

 

3 comments on “The Stare

  1. Marc Isolda says:

    incredibly sharp, think I can count the hairs on their head!!!!!

    Like

  2. Not as sharp as you old bean.

    Like

  3. Frank Lehnen says:

    Love that! I love pictures that make you wonder…. in this case I wonder what the f.. those people are doing sitting there. Great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

