Just killing time

 

Uhnhunu

Just killing time, Shelbourn Falls, Massachusetts © Steven Willard

I have mixed feelings about trying to photograph when traveling with a companion. The last couple of posts were the result of a trip to Shelbourne Falls and the Bridge of Flowers, and they wouldn’t have happened if the trip hadn’t been suggested by someone else. But of course when you are in the company of another person, especially when that person has no interest in photography, compromise results. My friend has said on more than one occasion that they didn’t mind waiting while I spent time with my eye fixed on the viewfinder, and I believe it’s true. But……In the back of my mind I can’t help worrying that I’m being inconsiderate. The flip side of this, of course, is that there are times when I’m waiting while said friend is prowling in some store where I have no interest, and this is my opportunity to find some unexpected subject.

This was one of the things that made Wally such a good photo pal. He was always happy to go anywhere, and once there was rarely in a hurry to go someplace else. He also had a knack for leading me down some path I might not have chosen, and routinely stopped for his own reason in a place that offered a photograph I wouldn’t have seen but for him.

I was waiting outside a store for my friend, not wanting to stray too far, when I noticed this little gem that I wouldn’t have noticed otherwise. Color, texture, and I love the way the vine has snaked it’s way through the rusted flagpole bracket. I took a moment to make three exposures, and right on time, out she came.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 12-40mm f2.8 zoom, processed with Snapseed.

 

 

 

5 comments on “Just killing time

  1. JohnAmes says:

    Really nice Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great composition. I’ve certainly experienced the feeling you described when traveling with my family. It can be quite a distraction!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s looking. And then there’s seeing. Clearly you know how to do both. Nicely seen. Beautifully rendered. Thanks for the illuminating story about how the photo came about. A good lesson for those of us who complain there’s nothing to photograph. Just open your eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think we all “back into” a photograph now and then.

    Like

Leave a Reply

