Opportunity knocks

 

Your serve, Middlebury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Your serve, Middlebury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

As I sat enjoying some avocado toast at New Morning with my attention focused on my iPad, I became aware that someone was watching me, waiting for me to look up. An attractive young woman, mid twenties, apologized in a soft accent, French I think, for interrupting whatever it was I was doing then asked just what it was I was doing. She said she had sometimes seen me here reading, or typing or doing something, and she was curious if I was a writer. Hum, how do I answer that truthfully? I admitted that I did in fact write but that I didn’t think of myself as a writer, but that I had a photography blog and wrote for that

“What do you photograph”? This was a question I was more comfortable answering since I have given it some thought and have come up with a reasonable answer. “I’m an opportunist”. “So you photograph whatever presents itself”, which is exactly what I meant. It turned out she is a writer of fiction who supports herself editing and proofreading for others. I gave her one of my cards with my web address, we chatted for a minute longer, and then she moved on.

I hung out for a little longer then left to check out a flea market down the street. I didn’t stay long because it was too hot, so I got back in the car and followed my nose. And just like that I saw this odd sight. No idea why someone left a canoe on a tennis court. How could I pass this up? Here was a photograph ready to be made, all I had to do was park the car and avail myself of the opportunity.

Olympus OMD EM5 with 20mm f1.7 lens processed in Snapseed on my iPad Air.

3 comments on “Opportunity knocks

  1. I came across a kayak in the wooded area next to a defunct pool area at an apartment complex on my morning walk. Makes you wonder, eh? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JohnAmes says:

    NICE POST! The canoe was fine the words even better. “Opportunist”?! Me too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, John. There are some who say the way to becoming a better photographer is to focus on just a few things. I just can’t manage that. I guess I’ll never amount to much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

