Stop!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stop! Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

That’s just what I did when I saw how the light and shadow had turned this ordinary subject into something unusual.

Lighting can make or ruin a photograph, but I can’t say that I agree with the statement I read that photography “is all about the light”. Good light on a boring subject won’t fix the problem, but a good subject will only be made better by good light, but it’s never all about the light.

On an overcast day this scene would be boring. There would be no shadow from the sign surrounding the graffiti, and the brick texture would be missing. Also, there would be no line of bright spots indicating the bolt holes in the post which is what caught my eye as I drove by. The light was important, but it needed the other elements to play off.

Olympus OMD EM1 with kit zoom and Snapseed.

2 comments on “Stop!

  1. Cool capture! So many things work together. I like the soft touch of the composition. You kept all the details in the shade and texture. Well done, Steven!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

