Lonely Canadian

Lonely Canadian, Bridgewater, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Lonely Canadian, Bridgewater, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was on my way to dinner. I had gotten off work at four and had spent a couple of hours photographing, trying to become more familiar with my new OMD EM1. I had spent most of the time with the camera on a tripod, using the auto-bracketing and touch screen features. By this time the sun was full down as I headed to Woodbury on one of my favorite back roads. As I came around the corner I caught sight of the pond with one lone Canada goose. I almost didn’t stop; I didn’t think the lens that was mounted was long enough, and I didn’t think there would be time to put the camera on the tripod. But, nothing ventured they say, so I parked the car and walked quietly back along the road, setting the camera back on auto image stabilization because I wasn’t going to use the tripod. I was using the 20mm f1.7 lens set at f2. and the camera’s HDR set to three exposures 3 EV apart; the camera resting on a fencepost.

In the computer I ended up just using two of the exposures in Photoshop’s HDR merge which I then moved into Nik Color Efex 2 to bring the rather flat tone mapped image to life, and this is the result. I continue to be impressed with the Olympus’ sensor and processor, and the jpegs are so good for my use that I’ve not bothered with their odd raw downloader. The real icing on the cake for me is their terrific image stabilization that almost negates my Parkinson’s tremor.

Olympus OMD EM1 with 20mm f1.7 lens.

9 comments on “Lonely Canadian

  1. Beka says:

    this is absolutely gorgeous, peaceful, & beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lutzbraum says:

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you sell prints of your photos?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to say I’ve never been asked that before. I’m not opposed to the idea, I’ve just never set up a system for doing it. Are you interested in the Lonely Canadian? It hasn’t been printed as yet, but I have a show coming up and hope to include it. How about I try printing to see how it looks on paper and get back to you. If you’re interested in a print from the show I could send you one for the show price plus shipping? Are you in the US?

      On Mon, May 2, 2016 at 9:23 AM, stevenwillardimages wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marc Isolda says:

    Yes, a very nice pond shot at night

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

