April afternoon light

April afternoon light, Southbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

April afternoon light, Southbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Photographs are often where you find them; right under your nose. This small pond is right on Main Street in Southbury on the grounds of an assisted living complex just to to the left, and there is a bank just to the right. Barely hidden by the tree branches at top is Interstate 84, the noise from which must keep some of the patience up at night. How many times have I driven past this scene? Hundreds surely, but this time I saw it.

I parked the car on the other side of the road and toted the K5IIs with my 55-300mm zoom mounted on my sturdy Gitzo tripod over and found a spot just off the sidewalk where I could shoot through the shrubs that line the edge of the pond. The irony is that I had driven all the way up to Falls Village and back, about eighty miles round trip, looking for subjects and found it here on my way to pick up my carry out dinner. So close that my Pad Thai was still hot when I got home. The up side is that it was a gorgeous day for a drive.

3 comments on “April afternoon light

  1. So true about what you said. Pad Thai sounds good too😉

    Like

  2. JohnAmes says:

    Fine tonality!! Black and white certainly was the way to go.

    Like

  3. In all honesty there really wasn’t much color and I saw it as a black and white image from the start. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

