Stick on a brick

One stick

One stick, Bridgewater, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Since moving to my current location I have fewer reasons to cross the Rt.133 bridge, but when I do I try to have a look around. The state overhauled the boat ramp last year and I hadn’t really paid much attention, other than to note it took a long time and seemed awfully involved for the small number of boaters who use the ramp.

At any rate, it was a nice day and I had a few minutes to spare so I pulled into the newly paved parking lot to see what changes had been made.

Depending how you look at it, this body of water is either a long narrow lake called Lillinonah, or a wide spot on a river called Housatonic. There seems to be some confusion where one starts and the other stops, but it was a beautiful afternoon and I wasn’t too worried by all of that.

What did catch my eye were the brick pavers that had been laid for the new ramp. Seeing these it was a little easier to understand why it took a while to put down. As I walked around, the K5 with the 15mm lens up to my eye, I noticed the interesting interplay of the regular man made pattern and the stochastic patterns of water and clouds. Both were interesting, but I know I’d never get tired of one of them.

Note: there appeared to be evidence of canine teeth on that stick. I suspect that some tired, wet, happy dog had a great time playing fetch not long before I arrived. Made me smile but I still miss Wally every day.

Pentax K5IIs with 15mm f4 lens processed with Snapseed® on my iPad Air.

2 comments on “Stick on a brick

  1. nikkorbacher says:

    A classic example of foreground, middle ground, and back ground. Gorgeous blues. And I like how the clouds parallel the hilltop horizon. Happy dog.

    Like

  2. Thanks. Wally would never have gone in that cold water for a stick. He didn’t even like to go outside in the rain. Smart dog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

