Reflected presence

Reflected, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Reflected, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I had stopped at the wetlands on Rt 317 in Roxbury to enjoy that time of day when the sun has just set behind the hills. There was little color in the sky at the time, and very little color anywhere else, save some green grass just starting to show. Pointing the camera at the still bare trees backed by an unremarkable sky just didn’t excite me and I was near the point of heading back to the car, but I had stopped to review the photographs I had made. When I rotated the camera 180 degrees I realized I had something I could use. At the time I intended to convert the image to black and white but later, after looking at the file on the monitor and boosting the saturation, I decided to process it in color instead.

In the end I really like his image. I find the distorted reflection lends a painterly quality and a mysterious sense lacking in a straight photograph of the scene. I put it down to taking a few moments to reflect on what I was trying to capture and the realization that sometimes we get a better look at something when we don’t look right at it.

Olympus OMd EM5 with 20mm f1.7 lens.

2 comments on “Reflected presence

  1. “I find the distorted reflection lends a painterly quality and a mysterious sense lacking in a straight photograph of the scene. I put it down to taking a few moments to reflect on what I was trying to capture and the realization that sometimes we get a better look at something when we don’t look right at it.” An absolute truth and well done!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment and your visits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

