Winter berries

 

Just the berries, Brookfield, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Just the berries, Brookfield, Connecticut © Steven Willard

It’s that time of year when one must find color wherever it is. These berries were growing out of the chain link fence that surrounds the lot where I park my RV. From my door they are virtually the only color within sight, unless you count greys or browns.

I was walking around my back yard, (in reality a parking lot), in search of something I could use to test the shallow depth of focus characteristics of my 42.5mm f1.7 LUMIX lens. You know, just to see. I think it was Garry Winogrand who said, “I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed”. In that way I’m a bit like an infant babbling while learning to talk; searching for words, or maybe, more accurately, a vocabulary. And just like an infant, not every word or sentence is successful, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try.

To me, the out of focus in this image works and is rather pleasing.  The regular repetition of the fence makes a nice foil for the irregular nature of the vegetation, and the blue-grey is a proper contrast to the red. Finally, I like the one lone drop of water.

Panasonic LUMIX G3 with LUMIX 42.5 mm f.7 processed in PS Express and Snapseed on my iPad Air.

2 comments on “Winter berries

  1. nikkorbacher says:

    Steve, you said you welcome negative comments. My comment is not negative, but I will say that I have trouble differentiating the berries from the background. If I really hone in on one particular clump of berries I can do it, but if I look at the image as a whole, the background is too strong for the foreground. On the other hand, I do think the berry composition is perfect-the slashing diagonal branch and the arrangement of the berry clusters. I think the three berries in the lower left give just the right balance. And I agree, the single water drop is wonderful.

    Like

  2. I appreciate your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

