How do you look at things?

First of Winter, Roxury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

First of Winter, Roxury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was out for a drive the other day. It had been overcast, and as it sometimes does, had finally cleared late in the afternoon to reveal a wonderfully glowing light just before sunset. This time of year the days are so short it feels there isn’t enough time to do what needs to be done and it’s tempting to curse the sun for not hanging around a little longer. But then I got to thinking; my favorite times of the day are just after sunup and sundown, it’s the in between hours that are less interesting. Winter only means there is a shorter wait between one and the other. It’s all how you look at things isn’t it?

Pentax K5IIs with 35mm f2.8 lens, processed in Photoshop CS4 using Nik Viviza and Color Efex Pro 4.

4 comments on “How do you look at things?

  1. This is such a good photo Steven. I agree with you completely – I think they call it ‘The Golden Hour’ – but I prefer it as ‘The Honey Hour’ when the light is thick and sweet and golden. It doesn’t always happen, but when it does it is unforgettable.

    Like

    • Thanks, James. One of the things I had to adjust to here in New England was the subtleties of the light and its changability. I had spent so much time in places where it seemed the light lingered longer, if you will. It was more predictable. Here I found myself frustrated that the light often changed by the time I could pull the car off the road and grab my camera.

      What was needed was a “reset” for my attitude. Instead of being frustrated by Nature, I now look upon this changeable feature as a blessing. It keeps me on my toes, and frequently offers opportunities I hadn’t expected. This is what I meant by how do you look at things. Do you see roadblocks ruining your day, or as the chance to explore something new? Optimism makes all the difference.

      Like

      • No, I never see roadblocks…there is opportunity for photographs everyday, regardless of the weather…you just have to go and get them…photos never come to you 😊

        Like

      • This is another thing photography has taught me, not just about photography, but life. Try to make the best of what you are given. Changes in our situations don’t have to be negative, though sometimes it’s hard to find the good. At least looking for the good moves us forward.

        Like

Leave a Reply

