Garden arch

imageGarden arch, Bethlehem, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was driving north out of Bethlehem today when I caught a glimps of this arch through a hole in the shrubbery wall that seperates the grounds of this garden from the road. I turned around at the first opportuunity and parked nearby.

I didn’t need to change the lens on the Olympus, it was mounted with the terrific 20mm f1.7 Lumix. This has become one of my favorite lenses with a slightly wide angle of view and what I consider great “drawing” ability. It produces no flare under most conditions and is very sharp and contrasty from f2.8 to about f8. In fact I often find it too sharp for my taste and often add a bit of blur for effect as I did here.

This image was taken at f5.6 using the Olympus OMD EM5 set to the largest jpeg file which I imported to Photoshop CS4 on my iMac where it was converted to black and white using Nik Silver Efex Pro 2. I sent that file to Google Drive so I could access it with my iPad Air. Once on the iPad I used Nik Snapseed to make a few minor adjustments and add the border then saved the final version back on Google Drive. This all sounds complicated but really isn’t, and at no time am I working on the original file so there is really no risk.

Leave a Reply

