Clear Autumn Sky, New Haven

imageClear sky over New Haven, Connecticut © Steven Willard

“And now for something different” as they used to say on Monty Python. The images I’ve been posting lately have been pretty heavily weighted  towards color and nature. The fall leaves are all but gone now and I thought it was time to change things up a bit.

A quick trip to New Haven found me walking down Chaple Street near the Yale campus recently. Sunday mornings are a great time to visit New Haven, parking is free and usually easy to find, and the places I frequent are open. I usually park and make camera/lens selections while still in the car, then walk with that body and lens combination, leaving everything else in the trunk of the car. Since I’ve been using slightly longer lenses lately, I picked my widest lens, the little Pentax 15mm f4. which put me in the mood for achitectual photography.

I offer this image because I especially like the strong diagonal lines and the rich tones. I also like the light that bounces off the  lighter concrete building on the right and illuminates the window frames of the brick building on the left. The raking light also shows off the textured concrete to good advantage. At the time I was wishing for even a piece of cloud to add interest to the bit of sky, but after looking at the final image I think I like it better without.

Pentax K5IIs with 15mm f4 lens, converted to black and white with the Nik Silver Efex Pro plugin in Photoshop CS4, then the file was moved to my iPad Air and Nik Snapseed for a few tweaks before sending the image to WordPress.

Leave a Reply

