After first frost

imageSubdued fall colors, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

As I stepped out the door this morning I happened to glance down, and there just off the porch, was this little vignette; a capsule version of fall. We had a good frost a couple of nights ago and it was enough to turn some leaves brown, but other, hardier plants are still putting up a fight against the cold. It won’t be long before all that’s pictured here will be buried in snow and just a memory.

I put the camera on a small table top tripod which I braced on my knees and used the tilting rear screen to compose. I enabled touch focus and shutter release which made the whole process much more convenient as the lens was only a few inches off the ground.

Olympus OMD EM5 with Lumix 20mm f1.7 lens, processes with PS Express and Snapseed on my iPad Air.

Leave a Reply

