Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

imageStop! Brookfield, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Do you want to know why I like this image? Because it looks like it’s trying to tell us something; that there is a message contained in the elements. That showing the fence, stop sign and powerline is supposed to convey some deep meaning. Even the cloudy sky or the fork in the road might be thought to be part of a greater symbolic message hidden in plain sight, and that in doing so you might think I’m deeper than I am. All I have to do is not say too much and some people will think I’m one of those photographers who hide meaning in my work, and that imparts a sense of gravitas to my images (using words like gravitas has the same effect).

In reality, I just liked the way these shapes looked in the foggy morning light. Of course it could have been my deep subconscious trying to tell me something I didn’t recognize at the time (and still don’t). Like Freud said, “sometimes a cigar is just a cigar”.

Olympus OMD EM5 with 14-42 zoom processed with Snapseed on my iPad Air.

Leave a Reply

