Garden party

imageRed cushion, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Woodbury is the unofficial antiques capital of Connecticut. Don’t ask me how it came to be, but we reportedly have more antique shops per capita than any other town in the state. I’m not a big fan of antiques in general (Arts and Crafts period the exception),but it’s hard to ignore such a large presence in such a small town.

I was out for a stroll on Main Street, looking for photo opportunities for the recently commisioned OM 50mm macro. As luck would have it, I kept finding things I wanted to photograph but they kept needing the 20mm lens; evinced by the previous blog entry. You can try, but you really can’t force these things. The only way is to give in and change lenses.

As I passed by the side alley of one shop, which happened to be closed, a flash of red caught my eye. As I stepped back to have another look through the slats in the wooden fence I found myself confronted by a garden party of widely diverse characters. I felt as though I had interupted a lively conversation for they were silent as I focused on the wrought iron chair with the red cushion at the far end of the walk.

Olympus OMD EM5 with 20mm f1.7 lens processed with Snapseed on my iPad Air.

 

One comment on “Garden party

  1. Marc Isolda says:

    Neato, great shot!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

