It doesn’t have to be complicated

imageOriginal grab shot of your’s truley

I was sitting at New Morning Market, our local natural food store, sipping coffee while trying to figure out some of the settings on my Olympus OMD EM5. It’s fairly well established that the user interface on the Olympus cameras are some of the more confusing on the market, and I had asked my friend Marc for some help. He has had a Pen E-P5 for a while now and I was hoping he could answer some of my questions. At one point he used my camera with the 20mm f1.7 to make this silly shot. Marc is forever using my mustache hairs to test lens sharpness so I hit a goofy pose and held still. I had no intention of keeping the image, but then thought, what the hell, let me see if I could use it as an excercise, using only Snapseed and the iPad Air to edit the jpeg file. This isn’t something I’d do to just anybody!

 

imageAfter editing in Snapseed

Not a great subject, but certainly more dramatic, and I think it is a style I might use for certain editorial portraits. Available light, a small hand held camera with a modestly priced lens, captured in large fine jpeg, and processed on my iPad Air using only Snapseed and shows what one can do without going near Photoshop. Pretty cool I think. Thanks Marc.

Olympus OMD EM5 with Lumix 20mm f1.7 lens, processed on my iPad Air in Snapseed.

2 comments on “It doesn’t have to be complicated

  1. Marc Isolda says:

    My God that’s sharp just look at the moustache hairs!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beka says:

    great pic & as always when I see a pic of you I smile & remember another great man, thank you for that & the great, beautiful pix you take & put up to share they are awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

