Mojave shapes and colors

imageJoshua Tree National Park, California © Steven Willard

 

imageJoshua Tree National Park, California © Steven Willard

 

imageJoshua Tree National Park, California © Steven Willard

 

imageJoshua Tree National Park, California © Steven Willard

I was surprised by how much I liked my all to short visit to Joshua Tree National Park. There were potential photographs every place I pointed my camera. Clear light and earth tones, bold dramatic shapes like you see nowhere else, and textures, lots and lots of textures. There is a sense of space that is almost tangible, heightened, I think, by the mistaken first impression that there is nothing to see; that there is this big absence. But it is only an absence of what one is used to, trees and green stuff. Once the initial shock wears off you begin to see what is here; the land laid bare, but not barren.  I can begin to understand why people find ways to live there despite the hardships. I’d love to go back in the spring and spend a couple of weeks. Maybe someday I will.

One of my customers came by the store recently. She and her husband, who are from Germany, had just returned from a cross country motorcycle ride. We were looking at her photographs which are really quite good, and almost all of of them had been taken with an iPhone. They had a “real” camera with them, but since they were on the bike it was so much more convenient to use the phone; consequently, it got used the most. She kept remarking on how varied the landscape was and how vast the country, and I have to agree. There is so much to see in this country a person could spend a lifetime trying and not see it all.

2 comments on “Mojave shapes and colors

Leave a Reply

