Living on the edge

imageOn the edge. maple, stone fence, and wild roses, Bridgewater, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I have been contemplating a new project. The idea sort of wormed its way into my consciousness while taking and editing photographs in the last month or so. It occurred to me that a common element in many of my recent images was life “on the edge”. I don’t mean life on the balance between life and death, but life as it exists at the edge of one enviroment as it abuts another. The separation between woods and meadow, or developed and wild. I’ve been exploring the verge between land and water, wetlands and woods. I have been exploring the contrasts between the textures of meadow grasses and tree bark as well as their vertical differences. I’ve been exploring the variuos greens and how they can be rendered in color and in black and white. I’ve been doing all this and I wasn’t really aware that a pattern of work was emerging, even as I was looking at the images on the monitor.

I’ve been caught out again. I write and talk about paying attentiom to what is around me, the things that make up my world, and yet I failed to notice this pattern that was developing in the selection of my subject matter. It just evolved, and I might not have taken note if it hadn’t been for printing and making selections for our current exhibit. I’ll be interested to see what happens now that I’m aware.

PentaxK5IIs with 35mm macro lens processed in Snapseed on my iPad Air.

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Living on the edge

  1. iosatel says:

    Interesting image, great work!

    Like

  2. Marc Isolda says:

    Very nice and I like your idea of images on the edge, well done!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

