A different perspective

imageOn the Shepaug River, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I cross a small bridge, about a hundred yards long, over the Shepaug River twice a day on my commute to and from work. The sides of the bridge are high enough that I can’t really see the river while driving accross the bridge, but I try every time I cross to catch a glimpse of the river below. Yesterday on my way home I finally gave in and pulled to the side of the road and parked.

What had finally pursuaded me to stop was the golden afternoon sun that was finding its way through the trees in shafts of light that fell on the opposite side of the riverbank and this one tree in particular. A walk to the center of the bridge with my long zoom lens let me compose an image that I planned to convert to black and white during processing.

Sometimes we just have to wait, wait for the light, and then act; park the car and walk.

Pentax K5IIs with 55-300mm zoom and processed in Picsplay and Snapseed on my iPad Air.

2 comments on “A different perspective

Leave a Reply

