Companions

imageCemetery, Washington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

What we see is only a hint

of what lies below

Roots and Bones

grown intertwined

till all are one

in the end

SJW

The placement and age of the tree hints that it may have been planted about the time the earliest markers were erected, and like the those weathered stones, the tree is showing signs of age and some tough times.

I found a place to stand that let me photograph the whole scene, but it required stitching. If I had stood farther back there would have been too many other obstuctions, moving in to get rid of all those obstructions and using a wide lens would have altered the relationships of the markers and the trees. The answer was to use a standard focal length lens and stich. I’ve done this before using Photoshop, but since I’ve been processing so many images on the iPad I thought I’d give one of the stitching apps a chance.

I chose AutoStitch®. It instructed me to chose the images from my camera roll and in fifteen seconds it had created a very good vertical panorama. Keep in mind that this was five 16 megapixel raw files I had imported directly to my iPad! I moved the image to PS Express for sharpening and cropping then into my go-to standard, Snapseed, for some more editing, and at that point I almost converted it to black and white. Instead I went to Stackables where I added some filters for texures and colors. There were a few places on the sides where the cropping hadn’t quite eliminated ragged edges of the stitch. I neglected to mention that I shot the scene hand held and the images didn’t all line up perfectly. To fix those I used another app cleverly called Retouch®. A close examination will reveal a couple of mistakes where it cloning went astray,  but all in all it works amazingly well. It won’t be my normal method for stitching, but sometimes, just sometimes, it will be the way to go.

Pentax K5IIs with 35mm macro lens, five frame stitch procesed on my iPad Air.

3 comments on “Companions

  1. JohnAmes says:

    Wow! Fine piece of work.

    Like

  2. Thanks, John. I can truthfully say that I thought of you while working on this image, and was wondering if you had tried some of the editing apps on your iPad yet. I hope you will give it a try. Not for everything, but like another accessory in your camera bag; one that’s practically free.

    Like

Leave a Reply

