Awareness

 

image

As photographed raw file.

 

imageAs I visusalized it.

A recent encounter with a neighbor and occassional reader of my blog went something like this.”I love the picture of the tree, you know, the white one. Where did you take that?” Me, “Just around the corner, near the dog walk. Come on and I’ll show you.” We walked the two hundred yards to a spot where the tree was visible and I pointed to it. “Oh my god, I don’t know how many times I’ve walk by here and never noticed. That’s amazing. It’s the tree, but it doesn’t look the same. I mean it does, but it doesn’t.”

Isn’t that what art is supposed to do? Hold something up for examination in a way that reveals the thing for what it is, but also for what else it is. As photographers, if all we do is point the camera and press the shutter, we have ignored the amazing tool we have at our disposal. We have done a disservice to those who view our images, and we have neglected to truley represent that subject. Finally we have short changed ourselves by not taking advantage of the opportunity to truely engage in life by being witness to it.

Philosophers, artistists, writers, thinkers and photographers, have been writing and speaking about the difference between looking and seeing for thousands of years. It’s a topic worth talking about because not only does truly looking and and seeing make us better photographers and artists, it helps us be better humans, better inhabitants of the world.

Scroll back to April 21  “Odd out” to read the original article.

Pentax K5IIs with kit zoom, processed with Snapseed, Stackables and Picplay on my iPad Air.

 

2 comments on “Awareness

  1. I have to admit that i get a feeling of satisfaction when someone says, “Where did you see THAT?” and it turns out to be something that’s right there in plain sight (if you’re being aware of things). Those times make me feel like I’m doing what a photographer’s supposed to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. And at the same time I start to wonder, “What else was there that I DIDN’T see?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

