Presents of mind

imagePlease be seated, Sherman, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I don’t know about you, but I’m continually intrigued by the source of ideas.  When I began posting to this blog my goal was one post a week and I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to keep up that pace for very long. My intent was that I’d try for one a week and if I didn’t have anything I’d just have to wait until I did. After all, I’m not getting paid, I’m only doing this for myself. (Pardon me here for saying this, but this site is really for my benefit; if you enjoy it that’s great, fantastic even, but it isn’t my primary motivation. I do this as a sort of exercise, a way to develop my vision and expression. No hard feelings.) My point is that I really didn’t think this could go on for very long at one post a week. But a funny thing happened; ideas began to come, faster and faster. I was actually able to bank posts, saving posts for future dates as a hedge against coming up dry sometime. But that hasn’t happened, or it hasn’t happened often. So now I post whenever I come up with an idea and get it ready to post. Sometimes I post three times a week, and the ideas keep coming. So the exercise must be working!

The ideas come from all sorts of places. Probably the sorce for the most posts comes from photographs I have made, but other times its been a phrase I’ve heard, or a story I’ve read. In those instances I’ve had to go back to find an image that works as an illustration. At times a word will just pop into my head for no apparent reason and begs to be explored. Once or twice I’ve written about an isssue I’ve been thinking about. The post is a way to help me clarify my opinion. Frequently the post has just been about a beautiful image I’ve seen and want to share. But all in all, I have a difficult time claiming that I have had to work for the ideas. I take photographs because I love to do it, and I write about these things as though I’m talking to myself, using the same words I hear in my head. These images are what I see, and this is how I talk. The photographs appear, and the words come unbidden. They are like presents.

Pentax K5IIs with kit zoom processed in PS Express and Snapseed on my iPad Air.

Leave a Reply

