A hard act to follow

imageRoxbury Farm, Connecticut © Steven Willard

When I first moved to Woodbury, known as the “Antiques Capital” of Connecticut, I found myelf encountering again and again, the name Wallace Nutting* 1861-1941. I was intrigued because he was so mulitfaceted, and his interests and talents ran surprizingly parallel to mine. He was a minister, as was my father. He was interested in furniture making and design, I was a furniture maker. He was a photographer, I was a photographer. And although he was from Massachuetts, much of his work area had been centered right where I happened to live. I would stumble across his furniture fairly often in the local shops, and sometimes I would run across one of his prints.

Nutting had begun photography while traveling around Massachuetts on his bicycle. It seems to have started out as a hobby but in time he turned it into a real business with a shop where a number** of women hand tinted his  black and white prints that were later mounted in frames made in his funiture shop. As I lived here longer and became more familiar with the countryside, and at the same time more familiar with his prints, I began to recognize some of the locations of his image

While I can’t say Nutting ever photographed this tree and barn, it is reminicient of many of his images. I treated the image to look, perhaps, like one of his original prints that fell between the cracks and missed being colorized. Just a small homage to someone who managed to make a lasting impression with his Art and Craft, and whose name is not as well known as it should be.

*Wallace Nutting information provided by wikipedia. I encourage you to read about his life and take note of the number of books he published in his spare time, all without the internet or facebook. How did those guys accomplish so much?

**At one time he employed about two-hundred colorist to meet the demand of the roughly ten million prints he sold by his own estimation!

Pentax K5IIs with kit zoom processed in Snapseed and other apps.

2 comments on “A hard act to follow

  1. I love the march of the stone wall across the front and down the side into the distance and the overarching tree embracing the whole scene with its bare branches. All the elements conspire inevitably to lead my eye to the barn. Bravo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

