Glancing back

imageDanbury Hospital, Danbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

On a recent trip to Danbury Hospital I happened to glance back over my shoulder as I walked to the parking garage. The variety of geometric shapes, colors and textures was enough to turn me around and pull out my camera; and yes, I even take my camera to the hospital. I made a few exposures, moved on to the car, and back to Woodbury.

I didn’t think any more about it until I downloaded the file to my iPad and a flood of memories caught up with me. I’ve spent a lot of time at Danbury Hospital. Months of radiation treatment for prostate cancer, and a year later weeks in recovery after two surgeries for colorectal cancer, much of which is but a hazy fog. Some of it is very clear; the unbelievable kindness of the staff, especially the nurses aides, who don’t get paid nearly enough for the work they do. The things I have trouble remembering are best left to the dark recesses of my mind; that place in the brain reserved for the truly unpleasant. It’s amazing that I really don’t mind going back. My oncologist has his office at the hospital so I have to go twice a year and it honestly doesn’t bother me.

Opportunities for photographs come from all kinds of places, and our reasons for making them are just as varied. Sometimes, the reasons are obvious, and sometimes, the reasons are less so. Maybe, in this instance, it was part of a cosmic plan to coax me into taking some of those unpleasant memories out of the dark and looking at them in better light. Or maybe I was just taken with those colors and shapes. Hell if I know.

Panasonic Lumix G3 with 20mm f1.7 processed on my iPad Air using PS Express and Snapseed.

Leave a Reply

