Be aware

imageBranches, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was taking Wally for his evening stroll, the other day. It’s something we do together almost every day when I get home from work. He really needs to get out, but he seems to also enjoy it. I, on the other hand, don’t need  to go for a walk after spending all day on my feet, but I enjoy it because I like watching him have such a good time.

We can learn a lot about enjoying Nature from watching a dog. First of all they really get their noses in it, and not just to smell the flowers.They like to smell everything and will get down and roll in it if given a chance. People on the other hand, tend to avoid unpleasant odors; we literally turn our noses up at stinky smells. Dogs also like to look at everything, and they don’t seem to care if they saw it just the day before, whereas people tend to get bored if not given something new to see. Dogs, once they have attended to their immediate needs, are rarely in a hurry. Wally will walk as long as I will let him and still has to be coaxed into going home. People can’t wait to finish one task to move on to something else.

I was trying to give Wally some extra time to sniff around; letting him do what he wanted to do, and not rush to get back in the house where all I was going to do was watch reruns of NCIS. I was doing pretty well, too, except my hands were getting uncomfortably cold. Wally would dash out to the limit of his leash (how I wish I could just let him run free, but it isn’t safe where we live). He would find something interesting, and work it until I caught up. I was also paying close attention, but for a diffferent reason. Not everyone has been as diligent as they should be about picking up after their dogs in the winter while there has been snow on the ground. So while he was following his nose, and I was following him, I walked face first into a tangle of branches. No harm done, but it reminded me to pay closer attention to Nature.

Pentax K5IIs with legacy 50mm f1.4 lens, processed on my iPad Air in Snapseed, PS Express, Stackables and Liquid Scale.

Leave a Reply

