First seen, Second take

image

Cornfield, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Here is the view that first caught my eye on Monday. It was late in the afternoon, with one of my favorite lighting conditions; high, hazy, overcast sky with the warm glow of setting sun. I chose the 70mm (105 eq) a short telephoto lens, because I wanted to compress the near-far relationships and, at the same time, compress the curve of the bushes on the left. A wider lens would have opened up the curve into a much more sweeping line and the trees in the distance would have been rendered much smaller. The choice of a longer lens wasn’t for its reach, but for perspective. I would have loved the presence of some geese, but they were nowhere to be seen.

This is one of those scenes that show the landscape as it might have looked a hundred, even two hundred years ago, and it well might have; Woodbury was founded in 1673, though I doubt there would have been this large a field here then. But the hills would have looked the same, and there would have been woods here then even if the species mix might have been different.

Perhaps it’s a product of having lived and photographed in a region for years; of having witnessed the landscape under all sorts of conditions, but I sometimes experience a sort of deja vu. Not of having been here before, clearly I have, but of having seen it BEFORE; way before. I can smell the smoke of fires, I can see farmers with their draft teams plowing fields, and I can hear the quiet of a countryside without cars and trucks. Perhaps it’s the product of an over-reactive imagination, or perhaps I really do sense these things; perhaps they really are present for everybody to tune into. Perhaps some just pay more attention to the vibes. Do you listen? Do you open you your mind, your heart, to everything around you?

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm f2.4 lens processed on my iPad Air with PS Express, Snapseed and Stackables.

Leave a Reply

