The Fog of War(m)

imageNursery, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

This started out as a fairly simple undertaking; stop and make a photograph of bare trees in a field of snow shrouded in fog from the warm air settling on the cold ground.

I had found a place to park and had mounted my kit zoom because I wasn’t sure how things were going to work out compositionally. I clipped on the lens shade out of habit and set the ISO to 1600 before getting out of the car. I walked back along the road on the outside of a cable barricade in ground that was clear of snow but muddy and slopping away from the road down a drop of about ten feet. It was that elevation that lends the perspective to the image above. I made a few exposures then carefully walked a few paces and made a few more. Everything was going fine, and perhaps that’s what caused it, the loss of concentration, for the next thing I knew I was on my side sliding down the hill into a snowbank. I managed to dig my toes in and stop the slide, but every time I tried to get back on my feet they would slip out from under me. Well, after a few more tries I was able to get up on all fours and crawl back up to the top where I could stand and survey the damage. I looked like I had been in the trenches.

Most important was that the camera suffered no damage. The lens shade had mud on it, but nothing else. I’ve been lucky and have always been able to protect my cameras, but I fear one of these days I won’t be so fortunate. My coat was not so lucky, but at least it was my veteran L.L. Bean barn coat and just needed to be washed along with my jeans. Personal injuries were minimal with only some small scratches and a nice raspberry on my hip. A kind soul had seen my fall while driving by and was thoughtful enough to turn around to see if I was okay; a small embarrassment for me.

Once I was home and had the muddy things in the washer I downloaded the files to the iPad and was satisfied that I hadn’t done it all for nothing. I had at least one image I am happy with; call it spoils of war.

Pentax K5IIs with kit zoom processed on my iPad Air with Snapseed®.

4 comments on “The Fog of War(m)

  1. Beautiful. I too did a fog shot, but from the safety of the car.

    Like

  2. Kaye Rogers says:

    Steve, your images are so beautiful, and so unlike what we see here in Central Texas. I truly enjoy them. With that said, I’m kinda disappointed the kind soul who stopped, didn’t snap a picture of you covered in mud.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

