Whisker sharp!

imageMarc, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Marc and I met up with Susan and Steven at New Morning, our local natural food store, for lunch and conversation. We usually have our cameras, and one thing leads to another, and with Marc and I it often devolves into comparing how well our cameras resolve mustache hairs. I never said we were mature!

Marc was facing a large wall of north facing windows providing light that wrapped nicely around his face; a natural softbox effect. I had the terrific 70mm f2.4 (105mm equivalent) Pentax lens set at F4.5, and 1/500 @1600 iso. Hard to mess up with a good subject.

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm f2.4 lens processed in Snapseed® and PS Express® on my iPad Air.

A trick I discovered; in Snapseed, convert to gray scale by using the saturation setting in the Tune Image filter instead of in the Black and White filter. I desaturate, leaving just a hint of color, and then use the Warmth slider to taste. I find it gives more control and I prefer the results.

 

 

.

 

 

6 comments on “Whisker sharp!

  1. Joe says:

    Great image Steven 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s all about the facial hair!

    Like

  3. Fred says:

    Compelling portrait, Steven! And I appreciated your humorous phrase about being mature…boys will be boys. Thanks.

    Like

  4. Marc Isolda says:

    Who is that handsome guy????

    Like

Leave a Reply

