Point me in the right direction

imageNorth Salem Design Studio, North Salem, New York © Steven Willard

Why do birds sometimes congregate for no apparent reason? Why do some places seem to attract creative ideas and the people who have them? Why are some people able to point the way even if they can’t find it themselves?

My friend Richard, and his wife, Susan, come up with more creative ideas than anybody I know. Is it something in the water? Do they feed off each other’s vibes? I don’t know, but creative people do seem to gather, and when they do there is a sort of symbiosis that can often grow like a snowball rolling down a hill.

I can’t explain it, but I know that whenever I come away from a visit I feel rejuvenated. They never offer negative opinions except in ways that help remove obstacles and move a piece of work or project forward. It is a talent and a gift that I don’t think either is aware of. If you are fortuneate, you will have someone like these people in your life; I know I am.

Pentax K5IIs with 35mm f2.8 lens.

10 comments on “Point me in the right direction

  1. How fortunate you are to have friends who are also artistic inspirations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s really the only way I can claim to be rich. 😉

    Like

  3. Marc Isolda says:

    This is definitely one of your better works, stunning old boy!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always observe how adept you are at keeping so many balls in the air at one time (if photography is about juggling all the elements so they all work together). Here the lift of the birds, the falling snow and the twin steeples — and all the shapes, colors and textures — just blow me away.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for that! I have never thought photography as a juggling act, but there are a lot of elements that have to come together for a successful image so maybe you’re right.
    Thanks.

    Like

  6. Mike says:

    Great image Steven! I like what you wrote and it seems to me that those that are creative have the ability to everything that is right in the world and it certainly does bring energy into our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. elmediat says:

    This is a very effective composition. The balance and use of space works so well with the colour and tones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

