Looking at cold from a warm place

imageNorth Salem, New York © Steven Willard

When the weather turns bitterly cold and windy I try to find warmer places to photograph. So when my friend Richard* invited me to come over and spend some guy-time I was happy to oblige. While he was in the kitchen making coffee I wandered into the living room where I saw this vignette of items on a window sill against a background of a cold, snowy backyard.

I’ve been learning lately that it doesn’t take a dramatic situation for me to find a subject interesting. Rather, all it takes is for the subject to touch a spot in my heart; for there to be some kind of connection to a long forgotten memory to make me either happy, or, sometimes sad. I don’t even have to know what that remembrance is all about. I just have to be sensitive to it and make a photograph.

Pentax K5IIs with 35mm f2.8 lens processed in Nik Snapseed® and Stackables® on my iPad Air.

*Richard was the subject of a portrait seen by searching “Time Well Spent” from 2013/03/28. Richard and his wife, Susan, operate a design business called North Salem Design in North Salem, New York. In addition, Richard designs and builds fine furniture, and if that didn’t keep him busy enough, he was recently named a Contributing Editor at Popular Mechanics magazine. It tires me out just thinking about all he does.

5 comments on “Looking at cold from a warm place

  1. This photo is simply lovely. It’s so nice to come across a still-life with so much warmth and truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

