Bishop’s Orchard, part two

imageBishop’s Orchard, Bethlehem, Connecticut © Steven Willard

After posting yesterday’s entry, I continued to investigate the “take” from my outing with the Reinbergs. I liked this scene as originally exposed, but it was lacking compositionally, and a straight print failed to capture the atmosphere as well as I wanted. In short, I “saw” more in my mind’s eye than was present in the unmanipulated image.

Working on my iPad Air, I used Snapseed® to boost contrast and saturation over the entire image using sliders in TUNE IMAGE. I then went into SELECTIVE ADJUST and further increased the saturation in the evergreen trees on the right side. I used the sharpen and structures sliders in DETAILS to add overall clarity and then saved the image to camera role.

Next I opened the image in Stackables®, an app I still don’t see very many people using, but one I have come to use regularly in conjunction with Snapseed®. Here I used a slider to boost gamma which further punches up the image in preparation for the next steps, the adding of a texture layer and a very slight blur layer. Those two steps negate some of the additional contrast steps taken earlier. I’m almost finished now, and I’m liking the image more and more, but I have three additioinal steps to make.

As I look at the scene, I feel it is a little weak in the middle section and would be better if it could be cropped somehow, but how do you crop an area out of the middle of a photograph? There’s an app for that! Using a marvelous app called Liquid Scale® it is possible to remove unimportant areas in an image seamlessly. It functions a bit like the content aware feature in Photoshop®, but lets you do it on your iPad; remarkable. The next step is to remove a distracting wire and chair in the middle foreground with an app called Retouch® and then one last stop in Snapseed®, where I add a slight vignette to help keep the eye in the photograph, and I’m done.

Below is the unprocessed image straight from the camera.

 

image

 

There are those who would look at all this and call my finished image a fake or a fraud.This is a more accurate version of what I saw in my mind when the exposure was made. I make no apologies; my goal is to present my vision, my take on the “actual” since no one can present a real version of the “actual” anyway.

Panasonic Lumix G3 with Nikkor 55mm f3.5 mounted on a Fotodiox adapter, processed on my iPad Air using Snapseed®, Stackables®, Liquid Scale® and Retouch® apps.

6 comments on “Bishop’s Orchard, part two

  1. Katrina W says:

    Nice edit! Thanks for the processing info, I hadn’t heard of Liquid Scale before, but will definitely give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an utterly delicious image and thanks so much Steven for providing the pp sequencing. Your intentions parallel my own approach which is to capture both what I see and how I feel about the image. I have hesitated to use my iPad for processing and was hoping that Stackables might be available for the Mac. I find the UI somewhat confusing. Like Katrina, I will have a look at Liquid Scale. Thanks very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marc Isolda says:

    nice, very nice!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

