It might have been moonglow

imageMaples by moonglow, Washington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I drove home just the other night right into a beautiful February full moon. There was a fresh snow and all the way home I hoped to come across a subject for a moonlit landscape. Maybe I was tired from working all day, or maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood, but I never saw what I was hoping to see. Invariably when I try too hard to find the image in reality it just doesn’t match the image I have in my head, and when it doesn’t I come away disappointed. It is almost always better for me to be moved first by the scene even if I later manipulate it to look like something only later imagined.

My point here is that while I didn’t manage to make a photograph from that moonlit night, I was moved or maybe even inspired, by that drive home. Today, while looking at some older files, I found one I felt I could use to to bend to my vision from that night.

Panasonic Lumix G3 with 20mm f1.7 lens processed in Nik Snapseed® and Stackables® on my iPad Air.

6 comments on “It might have been moonglow

  1. JohnAmes says:

    I very much like this “revist”. It seems to me as we advance in our craft, these possibilities increase and shouldn’t be overlooked.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore this image. The shadows reaching forward are so powerful, and the glow in the sky lends provides the mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yup, this the one….. Tasty………Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 has a similar mono filter which seems to overlay a blur onto a dense tonal rendition……and I love it…….you are persuading me to persist with the clumsy interface on Stackables.
    Thanks Steven.

    Like

Leave a Reply

