Old and Young

image Old wall, Old pines, Washington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Revisiting the scene. I greatly enjoy going back to places I have photographed before, especially with someone. Yesterday I had the pleasure of driving Susan and Steven around to some of the places I know, and I had a chance to see them in new light (no pun intended).

Some may recognize this scene from a previous post*, but that image was made under different conditions, and yesterday I was “seeing” differently. I know there are some who are very protective of just where they make their images. It’s as though they are afraid someone might steal their juju. To me, it’s a lot of fun to take people to the locations of photographs I’ve made to the point of showing them where I stood. Guess what? It never looks the same, even to me, and their photographs are never similar. Yes, it’s possible to go home again (sorry Tom), but it never looks the same, and you will certainly not be the same.

If you have a chance to look at the post “Stone Wall” you’ll see it is primarily about atmosphere and light. It was foggy and I was trying to capture that feeling. Today’s post image is mostly about content; I wanted to contrast the old stone wall and the old mature pines to the young sapling sandwiched between. I even went so far as to style the image to appear like an old film print. Call it an editorial decision if you will. I was less interested in capturing a “truthful” representation of the scene than getting my point across; and I wouldn’t have thought about all this if I hadn’t taken my friends there to share and reshoot.

Pentax K5IIs with 15mm f4 lens, processed on my iPad Air with Nik Snapseed® and Stackables®.

*Search “Stone Walls” November 18 and click on Stone Walls.

7 comments on “Old and Young

  1. I guess I’d make the argument that the image IS truthful if it succeeded in capturing the emotions that you intended to get.

    At any rate, I like this very much; your post-production is nicely done.

    Like

  2. To the first sentence; I agree wholeheartedly. To the second; thank you very much.

    Like

  3. Another wonderful interpretation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

