Tony

imageTony, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I first met Tony about ten years ago. Over coffee at the local deli we have talked about many things, but Tony’s eyes light up a bit and he always becomes animated when he talks about art with a capital A. Tony is a retired high school Art teacher, and he easily falls into the role of educator when talking about what is clearly one of his favorite subjects. I think his students must have been very fortunate.

I had wanted to make his portrait for a while, but as with many things, I kept putting it off; always waiting for the right time. The other day I stopped by for a visit and found I had no excuse. He was feeling pretty good and he was wearing a plain sweater. The light coming in the window was perfect, and I had my camera and the lens I wanted to use was already mounted.  I chose an aperture wide enough to drop the background out of focus, but small enough to provide enough depth of field to hold focus from his nose to ears. I made a half dozen exposures and the camera went back in the bag: no big deal.

I don’t know why it took me so long to get around to finally doing what I should have done before. I seem destined to have to learn this lesson over and over.

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm f2.4 (105mm equivalent) processed in Photoshop CS4 and Nik Snapseed®.

 

Leave a Reply

