Burned Barn and Berries

After the FireRoxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

It was a bright and sunny November day, but it was very cold and windy when I stopped to explore the remains of a burned out barn. Barn fires are not uncommon here; abandoned barns are targets of vandals and the occasional lightning strike. There was six inches of snow on the ground making it hazardous as I tripped and stumbled around in search of a photograph I just couldn’t find. I was getting colder and more frustrated by the second.

Walking back to the car I passed by these berries. I had noticed them on the way in, but at the time I was looking for the image that I thought I was going to find. Not finding it, I decided to look again. The berries had thrived in cow-flop rich soil, and as the barn continued to decay, Nature did as she always does when given a chance and the vines flourished.

I had chosen the kit zoom when I was still in the car because I didn’t want to change lenses in the cold; I didn’t trust my cold fingers, so it was a matter of finding a secure place to stand while I zoomed in and out to frame the image.

Pentax K10D with kit zoom, processed in Photoshop CS4.

2 comments on “Burned Barn and Berries

  1. There is so much movement and life in addition to the play of color and texture in this photograph. To me the branch is like a dancer leaping across the frame.

    Like

  2. What an imagination you have! Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

