A Walk in the Woods

 

image Forrest Floor, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I took the opportunity to take a walk in the woods a few days ago. I realized it won’t be too long before the color will be gone, leaving only grays and browns, and I wanted to make a few more images of color while I could. I don’t think of myself as a nature photographer, I think I lack the patience and maybe the real interest, but I do enjoy getting out in the woods now and then.

This brought up a thought; just what kind of photographer am I then? If I go back through my files I see a lot of variety; rural landscapes, urban scenes and a few portraits. I think that environmental opportunist comes the closest to covering it. I have a desire to record my environment and occasionally the people in it.

It won’t be long now before we have our first real cold spell and snow, and while I’ll still take walks, the weather is sure to slow me down.

2 comments on “A Walk in the Woods

  1. A beautiful evocative image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

