Nothing to see here

imageIn Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was on a walk in the woods recently in search of some Fall color, or some other indication of Fall. I wasn’t having much luck. That happens a lot with me; I’ll go in search of an image, frequently with something specific in mind, and strike out. It is one of the scariest thoughts I have when I dream of being a professional photographer. The idea that you HAVE to deliver the goods even when there is nothing there. It is the real luxury of being an amateur; there is no real pressure.

Any way, I was feeling sorry for myself for going to all the trouble of taking a walk in the country on a beautiful Fall day. (You get the irony here I hope) I was mumbling to myself about the fact that there just wasn’t anything to see here. I even imagined the stereotypical London bobby, with accent, at the scene of an accident, “Move along, move along. Nothing to see here”.

I was walking back in the direction of the car when I almost stumbled over this tree stump someone used as a display for a small collection of stones. There didn’t appear to be anything special about the stones; no unusual colors or shapes, and they weren’t stacked carefully like some of the cairns I have come across. These were just ordinary rocks, but somebody, perhaps a small child, had found them interesting enough to pick up. I can imagine them being foisted off on a patient mom or dad to carry until it was time to go home. They didn’t want these mementos to go unremembered so they were carefully arranged on this stump; an offering perhaps to the Being who looks after innocent children and indulgent, loving parents. Nothing to see here.

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm f2.4 lens, processed in Nik Snapseed® on my iPad Air.

Leave a Reply

