The Lake

imageLake Ontario, Henderson, New York © Steven Willard

I’d never been to Lake Ontario before, and I likely would never have gone if it hadn’t been for an invitation from Phil Cheney. I have worked with Phil for a number of years, and though we have been on a friendly basis we hadn’t crossed that invisible divide between work acquaintance and friend. We would say good morning, and stop to chat in the free moments that happen at work but we had never taken the time to really get to know one another. Phil changed that.

I’ve been having some personal problems and knew if I didn’t share at least some of what was going on I would pay the price of keeping things bottled up, plus people would notice I wasn’t quite myself and wonder what was going on. As it happens, Phil is the person closest in age to me at work, and in the end I confided in him a bit of what was on my mind and he listened. He didn’t offer solutions or make value judgements, but instead he let me talk a bit and doing just that helped.

About two weeks ago he surprised me by suggesting we take a road trip to his family cottage in Upstate New York. I was hesitant at first; could we find enough common ground to talk about for the five hour drive up and back plus the couple of days we would spend together, or would we just run out of stuff to talk about and get bored. I decided to go for it, and I’m happy I did. We talked for hours about our families, interests and jobs we have had. We talked about cars and motorcycles, too. I grew up in South Texas, he in upstate New York. Phil grew up in a devout Catholic family, I was the son of a Christian minister, but we found a lot we had in common.

Lakes are mysterious things. You can spend hours watching the wind create patterns of the waves, or watch the birds skim along the shore looking for a meal. You can watch the weather change, the clouds roll in and the sky turn colors. You can watch as the light changes as the sun goes down. But it takes a bit of effort to learn what lies beneath the surface.

Pentax K5IIs with kit zoom processed on my iPad Air with Nik Snapseed® and Stackables®.

2 comments on “The Lake

  1. Marc Isolda says:

    Brilliant!!!! Absolutely brilliant. A beautiful capture. Wish I was sitting on that bench.

    Like

Leave a Reply

