Summer Afternoon

imageWoodlake, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Hot and humid, a reminder of what it was like to live in Atlanta, or Houston, or Corpus Christi. The kind of somnolence inducing weather I was happy to leave. Please don’t think I am deriding these places (well maybe Houston a little, a city I just couldn’t learn to like). I am only speaking of what happens to me when subjected to anyplace where the weather saps my energy and seems to throw a very wet blanket over any creative impulse. I’m fortunate to work now in an air conditioned building, coddled in a constant cool breeze, where I never (hardly ever) break into a sweat. It isn’t until I leave for a quick lunch and trip to the Post Office that I am reminded how warm July is, even in Connecticut.

Six forty-five in the evening, and it was still hot at as I neared home. I turned into a small parking lot at the entrance to our street so I could answer the phone. Chris wanted to go out for dinner, and I got out of the car to walk a bit as we talked. That’s when I saw this image of the reflections of the trees and bushes that line the lake. The sun, diffused by a high hazy overcast, was on it’s way down and was backlighting the leaves. Dapple, that’s the word I was thinking then; sun dappled water. After I finished with the phone I went back to the car and got the little Lumix G3 with the wonderful Panasonic 20mm lens. It is an interesting thing for me; how differently I work with this combination versus the Pentax. The Pentax fulfills the role of a more serious instrument, the G3 is more like a sketch pad which I use in a looser, almost impetuous, fashion. It is similar to the different way I worked when I used 35mm rather than 4×5. The odd thing is, there is just not that much difference in the sensor size, it has more to do with the camera controls and the optical versus the elctronic viewfinder. Not that one is better than the other, just different. It’s funny how such things can influence us in ways hard to describe.

Panasonic Lumix G with Panasonic 20mm f1.7 lens, processed in Photoshop CS4 and Nik Color Efex Pro4.

2 comments on “Summer Afternoon

  1. This image is so painterly and dreamy. An impressionistic view of summer. (Makes me want to take a nap.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

