Storm Brewing

imageStorm over wetlands, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was on my way to New Morning*, Woodbury’s statewide famous natural foods (read health food) store to pick up a few things before the thunderstorms that are predicted for later today actually struck. I glanced out the driver’s side window and was amazed by the roiling cloud action. Tendrils of mist were being lifted off the ridge line and getting sucked into the dark boil that was moving my way. I pulled as far off the road as I could get and set the warning flashers. Fortunately I had taken the time last night to put my “standard” lens back on the camera body, so it was only a moment and I was across the street making exposures. I had time for a few variations and most of the drama was over, the wind had pushed everything on.

Yesterday I had stopped on my way home from work to photograph cloud patterns from a different viewpoint. I had time to set up my tripod and pano set-up to photograph a hayfield before it was mown. I stood there for about an hour as the light changed and the clouds rolled across the ridge and shadows moved over the meadow. I even had time to get out my iphone and play some music while I watched and photographed; something I’ve never done before. It was quite a contrast to have the luxury of time to make photographs instead of the rush to get a few exposures like this morning.

We take things as they come, and do what we can with what we are given. It is not being passive but opportunistic.

Pentax K5IIs with 35mm f2.8 macro lens. Actually shot in raw and imported into my iPad Air and processed in Nik Snapseed®

*If you live anywhere near Woodbury, Connecticut, do yourself a treat and visit New Morning Market, http://www.newmorn.com There is a nice coffee/juice bar and wifi. This was posted from there.

4 comments on “Storm Brewing

  1. This is superb! You have just caught the magic light perfectly!

    Like

  2. It helps to have your head in the clouds — or in this case, your eye on them. Beautiful.

    Like

  3. Thank you, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

