Summer Hosta

imageHosta Blossom, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Home late from work, I could hear Wally, my good dog pal, in some urgency to get out for his walk. I grabbed leash and camera, as usual and we headed out the door. We took our regular route up to the water storage tank then wound up taking one of the paths that end up where the grounds people dump the green clippings.

Wally led the way as I looked left and right for possible photographs. We wandered around awhile longer then headed back to the house for dinner, his and mine. Just as we walked up the sidewalk to the front door I saw this blossom, there, where I have been walking by it day after day, without noticing. How often does this kind of thing happen? I go searching about for something to photograph, and here it is right under my nose. I took a couple exposures, not expecting much, then went in to eat.

After dinner I imported the files into my iPad Air and was surprised that there was actually something I thought I could use, and this is where I departed from my usual workflow. I ran the file through Nik’s Snapseed® in order to to tweak the background color balance a bit and to darken it in a few places, then I move the file into Stackables®, a very nice filters App available for $.99! The result isn’t the style most of my friends would recognize as mine, and some of them won’t be pleased, but it is fun to shake things up every now and then.

Panasonic Lumix G3 with 20mm f1.7 lens. Image processed in Nik Snapseed® and Stackables® filter App.

Leave a Reply

